Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Leading Change for Antrim and Newtownabbey since 1998

David Ford MLA standing in Antrim town centreSince 1998 David Ford has been Alliance's member of the Northern Ireland Assembly for South Antrim, and is currently the most senior representative of South Antrim at Stormont.

Until 2011, this included the diverse communities of Antrim, Ballyclare, Ballyeaston, Ballynure, Ballyrobert, Carnmoney, Crumlin, Doagh, Glengormley, Mallusk, Muckamore, Parkgate, Randalstown, Templepatrick and Toome. From 2011, most of central Glengormley transferred to North Belfast, but Glenavy, Dundrod and Stoneyford transferred to South Antrim from Lagan Valley.

On 5 May 2011, David's vote increased from 2007 and he was just 44 votes short of the quota on the first stage of the count. The DUP's Pam Lewis gained the seat previously held by Thomas Burns of the SDLP, joining David Ford, Trevor Clarke and Paul Girvan (DUP), Mitchell McLaughlin (SF) and Danny Kinahan (UUP) - who had replaced David Burnside during the previous term.

In May 2016 David was elected alongside Trevor Clarke, Pam Cameron and Paul Girvan (DUP), as well as Decaln Kearney (Sinn Fein) and Steve Aiken (UUP).

David was also a member of Antrim Borough Council, where he served from 1993 to 2001 and was elected again in 2005, serving until 2010.